Font size:


Every day, people from across Ontario are working to increase the public’s understanding of our justice system. OJEN has created a series of awards that recognize the invaluable efforts of four outstanding individuals each year.

OJEN Chief Justices' Award

The Chief Justices’ Award was established by the three Chief Justices of Ontario Court of Appeal, Superior Court of Justice and Ontario Court of Justice. This award recognizes an individual who has made an exceptional contribution in promoting public understanding, education and dialogue in support of a responsive and inclusive justice system.

OJEN Lennox Award

The Lennox Award was created by the Ontario Court of Justice to honour the former Chief Justice Brian Lennox’s role as a founding Director of the Ontario Justice Education Network. This annual award recognizes innovation in justice education in Ontario’s East Region

Hux-Kiteley Exemplary Justice Educator Award

This award was named after two of the members of OJEN’s original Board of Directors: Allan Hux, who represented Ontario History and Social Science Teachers’ Association, and Justice Fran Kiteley, who was the Superior Court of Justice representative and the first Chair of OJEN’s Board of Directors. It recognizes an educator in the province of Ontario who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in the area of justice education.

Tate Herbert Memorial Post-Secondary Award

This annual award is named after an exceptional young man who lost his life to cancer in 2013 at the age of 20. It recognizes a post-secondary student volunteer who has exceeded expectations and made a significant contribution to OJEN’s justice education initiatives.

Keep up-to-date with news from OJEN!

OJEN has cleaned its email list in accordance with CASL legislation. If you used to receive our publications, please enter your email address into the box below to check if you are still subscribed.

Your address was not found on our list.

You are already subscribed to OJEN’s newsletter, thank you.